Skip to content

Honorary Awards: Recognising inspiring leaders in the University's community

UniSQ welcomes three honorary award recipients acknowledging outstanding service

The University of Southern Queensland has recognised exceptional individual achievement and service by conferring an honorary degree to three outstanding community leaders.

Author and former newspaper editor-in-chief David Fagan, international community leader Gitie House and former global research leader Professor Shahjahan Khan were awarded the honorary titles at a ceremony at the University of Southern Queensland campus in Toowoomba.

University of Southern Queensland Vice-Chancellor Professor Geraldine Mackenzie said the Honorary Awards were among the highest honours bestowed by the University and recognition of exceptional individual success and outstanding service.

“We are very proud to acknowledge the recipients’ contributions,” Professor Mackenzie said.

“Three outstanding community leaders who are connected to our university and have worked tirelessly to make a difference in the community.

“The honorary award recipients represent the University’s values of respect, integrity and excellence.”

Chancellor John Dornbusch presented the Honorary Awards to the following recipients:

• Mrs Gitie House OAM – Fellow of the University – for significant contribution to the University and business scholarly community as a UniSQ lecturer and alumna, and outstanding commitment to multiculturalism and cultural diversity.

• Mr David Fagan – Fellow of the University – for significant contribution to the University and media and journalism scholarly community as a UniSQ guest lecturer and alumni, and long-standing service to the journalism industry.

• Professor Shahjahan Khan – Professor Emeritus – for significant contribution to the University and statistics scholarly community, and the championing of cultural diversity across the community. Professor Khan was unable to attend the ceremony, with his award received by his son Adnun Khan. 

honorary award winners with the chancellor and vice-chancellor
Honorary Awards (from left) UniSQ Vice-Chancellor Professor Geraldine Mackenzie, Fellow of the University Gitie House OAM, Adnun Khan (accepting the award of Professor Emeritus on behalf of his father Shahjahan Khan), Fellow of the University David Fagan and UniSQ Chancellor John Dornbusch.