## Membership

## **Education Committee**



Responsible officer University Secretary Approval Authority Academic Board

## Membership

4.1.1. Associate Provost (Chair)	Ex officio	
Professor Lorelle Burton		
4.1.2. One elected staff member of Academic Board drawn from category 4.1.14 below, appointed by the Chair, Academic Board, following an expression of interest process (Deputy Chair)  Professor Noeleen McNamara	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular meeting of the Academic Board in July 2027.	
4.1.3. Dean (Academic)	Ex officio	
Professor Geoff Slaughter	LX Officio	
4.1.4. Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching)	Ex officio	
Associate Professor Tanya Machin	LX official	
4.1.5 Dean (Graduate Research School)	Ex officio	
Professor Charlotte Brownlow		
4.1.6 Head of College (College for First Nations) Professor Odette Best	Ex officio	
4.1.7. Dean (Academic Transformation) Professor Lyn Alderman	Ex officio	
4.1.8. Head of College and Dean (Pathways Education) Professor Ian Wells	Ex officio	
4.1.9. Deputy Academic Registrar and Director (Student Administration) Belinda Reimers	Ex officio	
4.1.10 University Librarian and Director (Library Services) Carmel O'Sullivan	Ex officio	
4.1.11 Dean (Learning and Teaching Futures) Professor Jo-Anne Ferreira	Ex officio	
4.1.12 Associate Director (Academic Program Support Services) TBC	Ex officio	
4.1.13 Chair, Learning and Teaching Innovation Subcommittee Professor Elizabeth Cardell	Ex officio	

Last updated: 1 March 2025

4.1.14 Four members of Academic Board from Academic Board's elected staff membership categories, elected by and from the members of Academic Board	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular meeting of the Academic Board in	
Associate Professor Lisa Beccaria	July 2027.	
Professor Noeleen McNamara		
Associate Professor Eric Ng		
Dr Rohan Genrich		
4.1.15. Four academic staff members, elected by and from the academic staff of the University	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular	
Catherine Hills	meeting of the Academic Board in July 2027.	
Dr Kathy Reeves	Sany	
Shane Simmons		
Dr Dianne Stratton-Maher		
4.1.16. One First Nations academic staff member, elected by and from the First Nations academic staff of the University  Dr Emerson Zerafa-Payne	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular meeting of the Academic Board in July 2027.	
4.1.17. Two undergraduate students, elected by and from the students of the University Samiul Chowdhury (2025) Taylar Mehaffey (2025)	Term of Office: One year, up to and including 31 March 2025, with annual opportunity to continue membership to a maximum term of three years.	
4.1.18. One elected postgraduate coursework student, elected by and from the students of the University	Term of Office: One year, up to and including 31 March 2025,	
Corbin Zeller (2025)	with annual opportunity to continue membership to a maximum term of three years.	
SECRETARY (EDUCATION COMMITTEE)		
Governance Officer (Academic Board) – Tracey Tyers		



## **Modification History**

Source	Details
	Establishment of Education Committee approved by Academic Board.
AB	Addition of membership position 4.1.14 One elected Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander academic staff member, elected by and from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander academic staff of the University, as approved by Academic Board.
AB	Update to membership due to changes in senior leadership roles in the University as approved by Academic Board.
EC	Addition of co-opted membership – Director (Student and Academic Support), until appointment of Academic Registrar who will then be co-opted to the Committee.
	Update to membership to reflect ADOSP – Deputy Chair.
	Update to membership due to AB membership changes (Early Retirement Scheme) 4.1.11.
	Update to membership to reflect resignation of student representatives.
	Update to reflect election of new student representative.
	Administrative update 4.1.3 and 4.1.4 to reflect realignment of Academic Affairs portfolio.
EC	Updated to membership to add member – Academic Registrar
EC	Update to add co-opted member – University Librarian and Director (Library Services)
	Update to reflect election of new members.
AB	Updated to reflect changes endorsed by Education Committee 17/08/2023 and approved by Academic Board 19/09/2023
	<ul> <li>University Librarian and Director (Library Services) as ex officio member rather than co-opted member</li> <li>Replace PVC (First Nations Education and Research) with Head (College for First Nations) (ex officio)</li> <li>Add Dean (Learning and Teaching Futures) (ex officio)</li> <li>Remove Chair, Academic Quality Policy Review and Implementation subcommittee</li> </ul>
	Updated to replace the Associate Dean (Graduate Research School) with the Dean (GRS) ex officio position due to Research Services Re-alignment.
AB	Updated to align with ToR approved at Academic Board 21/2/2024.
	Updated to reflect title changes
Admin	Updated to reflect new term of Academic Board and Education Committee commencing 1/7/24 – elected members.
Admin	Updated to replace Academic Registrar with Associate Provost ex officio position due to Students Portfolio realignment.
	AB AB AB EC EC EC AB AB AB AAB



31/10/2024	Admin	Updated to reflect change of Terms of Reference of the Learning and Teaching Innovation Subcommittee to a single Chair and the graduation of a student representative.
12/11/2024	АВ	Updated to reflect change to Terms of Reference – Change of Chair from Provost to Associate Provost. Change Associate Provost position to Deputy Academic Registrar and Director (Student Administration).
01/03/2025	Admin	Updated student membership for new term.

